Piazza Martiri, 3, 09010 Sant Anna Arrresi CI
0781 966102

Zappanation direct by Sean Noonan – Ionisation of Varese and Zappa

the southwestern Sardinian jazz festival

Zappanation direct by Sean Noonan – Ionisation of Varese and Zappa

An Ionisation of Edgard Varese and Frank Zappa! 

Zappanation will be an original rock opera for 9 piece ensemble inspired by the music of Frank Zappa and Edgard Varese that includes: U.K based Ligeti String Quartet, with Leeds rhythm section from Shatner’s Bassoon plus Bavarian cabaret guitaristNorbert Buerger and tenor saxophonist Harry Saltzman.

For this performance Sean will present a large scale composition fusing his discoveries influenced by harmolodic jazz storytelling,bleeding-edge rock, and avant-garde classical music.

September 1-2, 2016  Zappanation will be the headline feature at the the International Festival “Ai Confini tra Sardegna e Jazz” in Sardinia

Edgard Victor Achille Charles Varèse also spelled Edgar Varèse; December 22, 1883 – November 6, 1965) was a French-born composer who spent the greater part of his career in the United States.

Varèse’s music emphasizes timbre and rhythm and he coined the term “organized sound” in reference to his own musical aesthetic. Varèse’s conception of music reflected his vision of “sound as living matter” and of “musical space as open rather than bounded”. He conceived the elements of his music in terms of “sound-masses”, likening their organization to the natural phenomenon of crystalization. Varèse thought that “to stubbornly conditioned ears, anything new in music has always been called noise”, and he posed the question, “what is music but organized noises?”




Although his complete surviving works only last about three hours, he has been recognised as an influence by several major composers of the late 20th century. Varèse saw potential in using electronic mediums for sound production, and his use of new instruments and electronic resources led to his being known as the “Father of Electronic Music” while Henry Miller described him as “The stratospheric Colossus of Sound”.



Sean Noonan (drums, vocals, compositions), Johnny Richards (keyboards), Michael Bardon (bass), Norbert Buerger (guitar), Harry Saltzman (sax), Valerie Welbanks (cello), Mandhira De Saram (violin), Richard Jones (viola), Patrick Dawkins (violin)





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *