Piazza Martiri, 3, 09010 Sant Anna Arrresi CI
0781 966102


the southwestern Sardinian jazz festival


SERENUS ZEITBLOM OKTETT SERENUS ZEITBLOM OKTETT Named after a character from the novel “Doktor Faustus” by Thomas Mann, the Serenus Zeitblom Octet works with compositions between chaos and structure, the fragmented and united, free improvisation and classical score. Music as a subconscious, “demonical territory” – as the Faustus-Novel states.
Founded in 2013 in Berlin by the composer, electric bass player and programmer Andreas Dzialocha, the Serenus Zeitblom Octet had its first premiere on 17th october 2013 in Berlin introducing the concept with his piece “Erster Teil – Zweiter Teil – Dritter Teil”. Since then the octet opened up for other composers, leading into new collaborations with other ensembles of all genres or artists. For example with the icelandic composer and S.L.Á.T.U.R. member Gunnar Karel Másson, which will be premiered on 13th of september 2014 at Sonic Festival in Kopenhagen.

The Serenus Zeitblom Octet consists of eight strong artists known from a large range of european free improvisation and jazz groups, contemporary written music ensembles or pop acts like Matthew Herbert, Bern Symphonieorchester, The Villagers, Käptn Peng und die Tentakel von Delphi, Andromeda Mega Express Orchestra, Stargaze with Andre de Ridder, Tula, Johann Johannsson, International Mahler Orchestra, Ensemble Kaleidoskop, The Notwist, Ken Vandermark and many more.
Aiming for a highly artificial but organic live and studio sound production aesthetic inspired by bands like Grizzly Bear, the Serenus Zeitblom Octet is accompanied by a ninth member, the “Klanggestalter”. Every instrument is being amplified and processed by filters and live algorithms, neutralizing the difference of acoustic and electric instruments, resulting in a new type of “chamber-music”- less effectful but rather bringing the octet to some archaic and physical aspect of music : the absolute of an immersive spatial sound.

Ingrid Laubrock:

Originally from Germany, Ingrid Laubrock resides in Brooklyn, NY. Between 1989 and 2009 she was active as a saxophonist and composer in London/UK.

She performed and/or recorded with: Anthony Braxton, Dave Douglas, Kenny Wheeler, Jason Moran, Tim Berne, William Parker, Tom Rainey, Mary Halvorson, Kris Davis, Tyshawn Sorey, Craig Taborn, Luc Ex, Django Bates’ Human Chain, The Continuum Ensemble and many others. INGRID LAUBROCK

Ingrid’s current projects as a leader are Anti-House, Sleepthief, Ingrid Laubrock Orchestra, Ingrid Laubrock Sextet and Ubatuba. Collaborations include LARK,Haste,Paradoxical Frog and Ingrid Laubrock/Tom Rainey Duo.She is a member of Anthony Braxton’s Falling River Music Quartet, Nonet and 12+1tet, Tom Rainey Trio and Obbligato, Andrew Drury’s Content Provider, Mary Halvorson Septet, Kris’ Davis Quintet, Nate Wooley’s Battle Pieces and Luc Ex’ Assemblée. Ingrid was one of the featured soloists in Anthony Braxton’s opera Trillium J.

Awards include the BBC Jazz Award for Innovation in 2004, a Fellowship in Jazz Composition by the Arts Foundation in 2006, the 2009 SWR German Radio Jazz Prize and the 2014 German Record Critics Quarterly Award. Commissions include Jammy Dodgers for jazz quintet and dancers (2006), Nonet music for Cheltenham Jazz Festival 2007, SWR New Jazz Meeting 2011 and “Vogelfrei”, a piece for chamber orchestra (ACO/Tricentric Foundation).

She won Rising Star/soprano saxophone in the 2015 in the ‘Downbeat Annual Critics Poll and won the ‘El Intruso Critics Poll for tenor saxophone in 2013.

Ingrid was Improviser in Residence 2012 in the German city Moers. The post is created to introduce creative music into the city throughout the year. As part of this she led a regular improvisation ensemble and taught sound workshops in elementary schools.

Other teaching experiences include improvisation workshops at Towson University, Guildhall School of Music and Drama, Baruch College, University of Michigan, University of Newcastle and many others.


Andreas Dzialocha (e-bass), David Meier (schlagwerk), Karsten Lipp (e-guitar), Moritz Bossman (e-guitar), Shasta Ellenbogen (viola), Isabelle Klemt (violoncello), Ritsche Koch (trumpet), Matthias Erb (klanggestaltung), Ingrid Laubrock (tenor sax), Els Vandeweyer (vibraphone)




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *